Motherhood Confessions

6 Dec

Oliver pees on his face.  Not all the time, but it has happened.  More than once.  More than twice.  I’d like to say that this only happens when Michael is changing his diaper and that I’ve told him and told him how to do it correctly because I am the epitome of motherhood perfection, but really, it has mostly happened to me.

I talk about baby poop a lot.  A LOT.  It started when Oliver went on a poop strike for 2 days and now continues with daily morning text messages to Michael about whether or not Ollie has had his morning poops yet.  I will also talk about poop to strangers.  And I’m completely comfortable with it.

I have absolutely no concept of what the date is or what day of the week it is.  I know if it’s the weekend because Michael is home, but as for what day it is during the week, nope, I’ve got nothing.  This kind of happens to me over the summer when Michael and I are both home from school, but it’s even worse with a baby.

There are some days when I don’t change Oliver’s clothes.  If we’re not leaving the house or if there’s not milk crust all over the neck of his sleeper then I’ll just leave him in it.  I tell myself that he likes it that way.  And he smells good.  SO GOOD.

Do you have anything to confess???

4 Responses to “Motherhood Confessions”

  1. Blanche December 6, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Yes to poop, yes to confusion on day but especially date, and why bother changing them into something that they will 100% need to be changed out of within the next 30 minutes (max) if the current outfit has yet to get too grungy? See, you are not alone!

    For my confession: Unless she cries, I no longer bother to check when I hear Little One run into something. Like her mother, she has lots of mystery bruises. Actually, the only reasons I generally know what day of the week it is is because I’ve signed Little One up for a 1x / week class and got to work for a couple hours on 1 or 2 days/week.

  2. -R- December 6, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I think talking about poop is totally normal when your baby is that little. I never would have believed I would have talked about poop consistency SO MUCH.

    We used to make sure to change the baby’s clothes about every 24 hours. It helped me keep track of the new day, I guess!

    Ren peed on his face at least once. I laughed. The good thing about having a girl is that she has never peed on me while I was changing her. Yet.

    Other confessions: Ree fell off of my bed once. I have let both kids go 5 or 6 days without a bath.

  3. Operation Pink Herring December 6, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    I have a minimal concept of what day of the week it is because I count down how many more days until the weekend. But as for date… no clue. I had to write it on a form and was off by three days.

    Hannah wears pajamas all day. I think the footie pajamas are adorable, and so easy for changing diapers. If she does wear a non-pajama outfit, she also sleeps in that.

    My confessions:
    I have knowingly left the house with poop on my clothes. More than once. Ditto for puke.
    I still let Hannah sleep in our bed when she’s fussy or gassy even though she fell out once. Now I put a pillow on the floor just in case.
    I am still wearing mostly maternity clothes. I am OK with wearing them for the rest of my life.
    I only wear nursing tanks and (maternity) hoodies. I am also OK with wearing this uniform for the rest of my life.
    I am secretly glad Hannah refuses to sleep in her crib. I like having her close by.
    Sometimes I think about the possibility of other kids bullying or being mean to Hannah and it makes me super angry at these imaginary children. And sometimes I cry about it.

  4. audrey December 8, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Alexander frequently stays in the same jammies for 24 hours. Unless he poops on them. Spit up doe not often warrant a change of clothes – for me or for him.

    We had houseguests at thanksgiving and it honestly surprised me when they were grossed out by all the poop conversations. Really? Other people don’t talk about poop all the time? What?

    I never thought i’d want to be a stay-at-home mom, but now I am starting to wish that were an option for me. I’m kinda dreading christmas because once christmas is over I only have one more week before I go back to work.

Leave a Reply

