Deep Thoughts on Turning 30

21 Nov

On Wednesday I’ll be 30 years old.  While this day has mostly been overshadowed by the fact that I just had a baby, it still feels like kind of a big deal.  I mean, other people are 30, not me.  I’m in my twenties.  I’m hip.  I’m supa fly.  I’m clearly lame enough to actually be turning 40.  Anyway, turning 30 has really brought about a higher level of consciousness for me.  I’ve been having deep thoughts.  DEEEEP THIRTY YEAR OLD THOUGHTS.

  1. Holy Moly, I’m actually getting old.
  2. Shouldn’t someone have gotten me diamonds of a significant size by now?
  3. Am I supposed to be a Serious Professional Person at this point?  Because even when I dress the part, I still kind of feel like I’m just faking it.
  4. I really hope that being 30 doesn’t mean I have to start wearing heels with jeans.  I’m just not into that.
  5. Now that I’m 30 and have a baby but still love everything Twilight does that make me one of those creepy Twilight Moms?
  6. I always thought I’d have a big 30th birthday party with a “Sarah Through The Years” slide show.  I guess I’m supposed to be too Grown Up and Mature to still want that but who am I kidding?  I still totally do.
  7. Sad but true:  I’ve started to enjoy wearing sneakers with my jeans.  Like regular old New Balances, not cute fun sneakers.  I don’t know if this has more to do with turning 30 or becoming a mom, but either way, I don’t think it’s cool.  At least my jeans aren’t pleated…yet.
  8. What are 30 year old’s supposed to watch on tv?  Because I like watching the Hallmark channel more than MTV and nothing beats the Food Network.  This feels more like 60 than 30, but you’re going to have to pry Chopped and my Hallmark Channel Original Movie from my cold dead hands.
  9. The first thing I could think of when my mom asked me what I wanted for my birthday was one of those battery powered nasal aspirators to suck boogers from the baby’s nose.  SAD.

So I guess that list turned out to be more of a look into how Not Cool I am instead of Deep Thoughts, but really, turning 30 actually doesn’t seem like that big of a deal to me.  Yes, it’s a milestone, but I don’t feel all of the angst that it looks like most people associate with turning 30.  I’m in a good place.  I have a happy marriage, I love my job, and I’m a mother.  As long as being 30 doesn’t mean that I’m supposed to have it all figured out then I’m ok.  I’m doing good.  Really good.  I can’t ask for more than that.

4 Responses to “Deep Thoughts on Turning 30”

  1. Operation Pink Herring November 21, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Yes, I think an electric nasal bulb sucker would probably be the saddest birthday present ever!

  2. audrey November 22, 2011 at 3:16 am #

    Regarding Deep Thought number 3: that’s how I feel about motherhood. I go through all the motions, and love this kid like crazy, but don’t really feel “grown up” enough to actually be someone’s mother.

    Happy almost birthday!

    • Sarah November 23, 2011 at 8:34 am #

      I feel the same way too! Maybe that’s just part of getting used to the whole thing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Recap « Thirty Mother - January 1, 2012

    […] I turned 30 and it was highly uneventful and that turned out to be okay. […]

Leave a Reply

